

# 2010 Post- and Under-Graduate Award Winners for AFDA Johannesburg and AFDA Cape Town

Issued by AFDA 30 Nov 2010

Well done to the class of 2010 on their success throughout the year! AFDA wishes the cast and crew winners and nominees all the best for the future which lies ahead. We look forward to many award-winning films.



A quote by Brad Henry: "Education is not solely about earning a great living. It means living a great life."

### Congratulations to all the winners of 2010!

## See list of winners below:

#### AFDA Johannesburg Post-Graduate 2010 Awards Winners

CATEGORY	AWARD
Best Documentary	
God Dank vir Klank	GOLD
Best Sound Designer	
Umkhumbi Wethu - Daniel Brocklebank	GOLD
Best Visual Effects	
Bomlambo - Grant Davies	GOLD
Best Actress in a Supporting Role	
City of Ashes - Jamie-Lee Sexton	BRONZE
Best Editor	
Bomlambo - Karien Goosen	GOLD
Umkhumbi Wethu - Tanille Retief	SILVER
Best Actor in a Supporting Role	
Black Sunday - Dheren Sreeramalu	SILVER
Best Musical Score	
Umkhumbi Wethu - Danielle Erasmus	GOLD
Best Production Designer	
Bomlambo - Mosibudi Pheeha	GOLD
Best Costume, Make-up & Styling	
Umkhumbi Wethu - Richard Redman	GOLD

Best Actress in a Lead Role	
Bomlambo - Nomsa Makhubu	GOLD
Best Actor in a Lead Role	
Black Sunday - Gideon le Roux	SILVER
Best Screenplay	
Umkhumbi Wethu - Danielle Erasmus & Garon Campbell	GOLD
Best Cinematographer	
Bomlambo - Brendan Barnes	GOLD
Best Director	
Bomlambo - Zwelisizwe Ntuli	GOLD
Best Producer	
Umkhumbi Wethu - Raeesah Essop	GOLD
Bomlambo - Benita Khoosal	SILVER
Best Fourth Year Film (SHARED AWARD)	
Bomlambo	GOLD
Umkhumbi Wethu	GOLD

## AFDA Cape Town Post-Graduate 2010 Awards Winners

Best Visual Effects	
Christina d'Orthez	GOLD
Best Supporting Actress	
Jessica Dawson - Skabenga	SILVER
Best Editor	
Jake Waldron and Mieke Vlaming - Letters to the Dark	GOLD
Best CMS	
Sarah Whittal - Letters to the Dark	GOLD
Best Cine	
Roscoe Vercueil - Letters to the Dark	GOLD
Best Producer	
Milena Gevers - Prophetess	GOLD
Best Actress	
Amanda Mapazi	BRONZE
Best Actor	
Siya Mgabadeli - Skabenga	SILVER
Best PD	
Bianca Prinsloo - Letters to the Dark	GOLD
Screenplay	
Dante Greeff - Skabenga	SILVER
Best Director	
Kyle Lewis - Letters to the Dark	GOLD
Best 4th Yr Film	
Letters to the Dark	GOLD

## The Alumni Award for Outstanding Achievement The Crew of Bakgat2 **Best First Year Animation** A Low Battery Best First Year Film From Across the Room Best Sound Designer Wesley Mace - Leonardo's Workshop **Best Second Year Television Production** The Comedy Line-up **Best Visual Effects** Theo Mosienyane - Igolide **Best Second Year Animation** Silhouetted Wings Best Actress in a Supporting Role Mapalollo Mohobane - Lindela **Best Editor** Markus van Schalkwyk - The Egyptian What What Best Second Year Film Bubblewrap and Bullet wounds Best Actor in a Supporting Role Vincenzo di Bella - Silver Scissors **Best Musical Score** N/A for 2010 Best Production Designer Suzanne McGinn - Crooked Road Best Costume, Make-up and Styling Gugulethu Sibiya - The Egyptian What What Best Actress in a Lead Role Anja Fockema - Cradle to Grave Best Actor in a Lead Role Russ McCarroll - In The Hands of the Devil Best Third Year Television Production Varslife Best Screenplay Lillian Million - Lindela Best Third Year Animation Leonardo's Workshop Best Cinematographer Ofentse Mwase - Igolide The Francois Swart Memorial Award for Professionalism Merveline Ferris **Best Animator** Derrick Greyvensteyn - Leonardo's Workshop CLVA Award Merveline Ferris **Best Director** Lillian Million - Lindela **Best Producer**

Vailene Singh - Leonardo's Workshop
Best Third Year Film
indela
AFDA Critics Award
Brd year - Lindela
th year - Bomlambo

# AFDA Cape Town Under-Graduate 2010 Awards Winners Best First Year Animation "The Gift of revenge" Best 5min motion picture 'Flying Chups" **Best Second Year Television Production** "Music Mania" **Best Third Year Television Production** The Peninsula Baboons Best Screenplay Karien Murray Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role Khanyiso Madlakane Best Actress in a Supporting Role Marné van den Burgh **Best Production Design** Janine Borland Best Cinematographer Nina Slabber Best Sound Design Dayne Malan Alumni Award Jenna Bass Best 1.5 min motion picture 'Giant" **Best Second Year Animation** 'Strike" Best third year film Cake Best Producer Glenwyn Irvine **Best Director** Philippa Caddow Best Actor in a Lead Role

Jeremy Boado

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Michaela Von Seydlitz

Best CMS

Gemma Eyre & Aimee Vogelsang

**Best Editor** 

Cathy Michel

#### **Best Visual Effects**

Jonathan Searle

- \* Afda graduation film Anguish shortlisted for Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024 29 Apr 2024
- \* Afda alumni in key roles on film which inspired Beyoncé's new album Cowboy Carter 5 Apr 2024
- \* Teaching students to ethically co-create with Al in arts education 23 Feb 2024
- " 11 Afda films selected to screen at Joburg Film Festival 20 Feb 2024
- " Afda students and alumni top Loeries Official Rankings 2023 12 Feb 2024

#### **AFDA**



AFDA is a Private Higher Education Institution owned by Stadio Holdings, which offers Higher Certificate and Degree programmes that are registered by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).

Profile | News | Contact | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com